Reading List

21Mar08

10, 20, and 30 Volume 1 by Morim Kang I decided I was going to dive into the world of Japanese and Korean contemporary novels. The first book on my list is Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami. I’ve also gotten two other books through my college’s interlibrary loan, so hopefully they come soon. I got Vibrator: A Novel by Mari Akasaka and The Salaryman’s Wife by Sujata Massey (the main character is a Japanese-American sleuth). Korean novels are a bit harder to find, and it this was confirmed by my friend, Jung, who lives in South Korea. Korean novels aren’t translated as much as Japanese novels. So Jung suggest Korean Japanese writer Kaneshiro Kazuki. I can only find one novel on Amazon by this writer, so I’ll have to check elsewhere. Kaneshiro Kazuki is the author of “Fly, Daddy, Fly” which was turned into a live-action movie of the same name. So, I’ll have to check Kaneshiro Kazuki out, because I also have an interest in Fly, Daddy, Fly the movie.

I am also checking out some new manga and manhwa. Some titles I plan on reading include Antique Bakery. It will be made into a Korean film, which comes out sometime this year, and stars Joo Ji Hoon of Princess Hours (Goong) and The Devil (Mawang). 10, 20, and 30 by Morim Kang is also on my list. I love the covers on the books (very modern and much like “chick-lit”). This manhwa seems targeted towards people over the age of 18. I don’t know if manhwa has a similar genre system as Japanese, but I would consider it to be josei if it were a manga. Also, Honey and Clover is coming out in the United States which is exciting. It must be pretty popular since it has been made into an anime, live-action drama, and live-action movie. I’m reading the current chapters in the US magazine, Shojo Beat.

I love josei manga, and so new releases that I want to pick up include Suppli and Walkin’ Butterfly. Other shoujo manga I’m interested in, include High School Debut and B.O.D.Y. You can check out a preview of B.O.D.Y in the March issue of Shojo Beat.

I have a lot of things I want to read and this post only touches the surface. I don’t read a lot of manga, but I’ve suddenly felt a surge to go out and buy some. I’ve been interested in Japanese popular culture for over seven years, but I’ve never been interested in manga until now. Being such a “newbie” to collecting it, I started a thread discussion on Amazon. If you are interest in collecting manga, maintaining your manga collection, or finding cheaper and alternative ways to read manga the advice given would probably help out a lot. Just click here.

My Japanese Fiction reading list is also public, so if you want to know what I plan to read (or just get some ideas), you can go here to view it.

Happy reading!

No Responses Yet to “Reading List”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

