Current obsession: Manga and Japanese fiction

03Apr08

I have finished Vibrator by Mari Akasaka which was a relatively short read but very good nonetheless.  It is one of those books you have to read twice because there is a lot of stream-of-conscious type of writing (the POV is first person, and the main character is a little crazy!) and sometimes I found myself going, “Wait! What?”  I think it’s because I’m not used to reading that sort of writing but it didn’t detract from the story– in fact it makes me want to watch the movie.

I’m also in the middle of reading The Salaryman’s Wife by Sujata Massey which is a pretty thick book.  Nonetheless it is very good and Massey is very good at making the characters (even minor ones) three-dimensional and dynamic.  They just feel real.  Massey also includes some history, Japanese language, art, and cultural insight which allows newbies like me the ability to follow along easily (since it takes place in Japan) without getting lost, and perhaps even learn a new thing or two.  This is the first novel in a long series and I look forward to reading the other ones.

Manga/manhwa I am currently reading include Vampire Knight, Antique Bakery, Love Attack, and a manhwa titled 10, 20, and 30.  This is only touching the surface of all that I want to read of course.  So far I have found everything to be excellent, in particular, Vampire Knight, which reminded me and a friend of the Anita Blake series by Laurell K. Hamilton, only no where near as graphic.

My Japanese studying, by the way (just in case you may have thought I stopped since I haven’t posted about it in awhile), is going great.  For some odd reason I was able to memorize almost 80 kanji within 3 days.  I don’t expect it to happen again, just luck I suppose.

No Responses Yet to “Current obsession: Manga and Japanese fiction”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

